Film Reviews

                  What People Are Saying... (film reviews)

"The film is Divine, literally, gift to humanity from earth mother goddess herself."

   -- Joshua Morrill

We must pay tribute to Elena for prompting us to re-examine basic features of human nature!

                                                                       --Dr. Michel Odent

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Birth As We Know It" is a stunning film that pulls you in, and mesmerizes you with its beauty. Rare and intelligent. Scientifically sound. Highly recommended to all future parents! It delicately observes and depicts one of nature's most private and yet miraculous events: the birth of a new human being!

                                                                      --Thomas R. Verny MD, DPsych, DHL, FRCPC, Founder/President of APPPAH

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

 "I would like to express what "Birth As We Know It" is:

There is Beethoven's Ninth Symphony.

There is Shakespeare's Hamlet.

There is Nadia Comaneci's - first ever - 1976 perfect score of 10.0 in Olympic gymnastics.

There is Einstein's cognitive epiphany E=MC(2).

Next to each stands Elena's documentary "Birth As We Know It".

I wish to both god and the devil I had had something to do with the making of this perfect masterpiece! To everyone, who generously contributed to the birth of this beautiful jewel, I offer eternal gratitude and congratulations. To Elena, - I simply bow (and I am not the one who bows). To everyone else – one final word: Magnificent!

                                                                      --Richard Roth, Film-maker

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This film delivers a powerful transmission of what it really takes to give birth consciously.

                                                                      -- Tatiana Sargunas, Russian Spiritual Midwife, Mother of 4.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I was spellbound with 'Birth As We Know It'. I will watch it again and again for years to come.

                                                                    -- Stephanie Neurohr, Filmmaker and Mother of 7.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I'm absolutely elated about my birthing experience and am forever grateful to Elena Tonetti-Vladimirova and her amazing film "Birth As We Know It" for instilling the confidence in me to have my baby at home, rather than in the hospital as I had been planning to do.

I am 42 and it is my first baby. My doctor told me I was a "high risk" category, so a c-section was due.When I heard in the film that birthing a child could be blissful rather than painful I was very surprised to hear such a thing as the idea was completely foreign to me. I watched the whole DVD 17 times! (all 3,5 hrs of it) Watching so many beautiful women giving birth so peacefully, helped my fears to melt away. It enabled me to avoid a build up of anxiety as the due date approached and put me into a significantly relaxed frame of mind. Not only that, the notion of having my baby in the water was also completely new and totally appealing as I feel very relaxed in water.

Everything Elena brought forward in her film was well articulated in a beautiful way that rang true for me, especially the things she said about how our own birth trauma affects our self-confidence during the delivery. I believe everybody, especially those planning on having a child, would benefit greatly from seeing it. I had a beautiful homebirth with a midwife.

                                                                      --Simone Italia, age 42 



Thank you so much for this WONDERFUL movie! I have already watched it twice...and am so happy to have such a wonderful movie to add to my birth resource library. I will be having my third homebirth (fifth birth) in the spring, and have found that your movie has really given me insight into birth that I had never considered before.

Your dedication to this movement is phenomenal. A true blessing to MY children, and theirs! Thank you!

                                                                        --Mya


I recently bought the DVD Birth As We Know It.

My son has just turned a year old and I still feel that I never gave birth to him. He was simply removed from my body by c-section after a failed induction. The induction was done, basically, due to nervous midwife and doctor.

Despite having trained as a doula and planning a water birth at home, I still ended up in a hospital, not being able to hold my son until 12 hours after he was born and suffering badly from post-natal depression.

I hope to have more children and seeing this DVD has helped me find a starting place. I realise now that I have so much work to do on myself before i can consider another child. I need to find that belief in my body that has been so devastated by my past experience. This has been such a gift to me, and I am so thankful to find this information that I had to thank you for it.

I live in South Africa, which I'm told has the highest c-section rate in the world (around 80% of all births). It is very hard to find support for natural childbirth - from friends and family alone, never mind health professionals! I'm considered quite crazy for even considering homebirth an option.

I hope once I have worked through my own issues that I will be able to give something back, hopefully by educating women in my country about just how wonderful their bodies are and that we are designed perfectly to give birth without intervention. Your film will be instrumental in my efforts.

Thank you again for this wonderful gift you have given the world.

Much love and bright blessings.

                                                                           --Sarah, from South Africa


 


My goodness, what a gorgeous piece of work! While the film is longer than I expected, I did not regret that fact, because it made possible more thoroughness than is customary. Whenever my attention wavered for a moment, I was brought back, again and again, by a new message and by your amazing voice and manner.

I appreciate the modesty, the lack of stridency, and the gentleness of the message. In other words, you accomplished the important (but often overlooked) task of making your delivery of the message match the content. The viewer feels treated as gently as do the parents who are bringing their babies into the outside world.

I often find birth films either overly romantic or overly political. "Birth As We Know It" is neither, but manages to deliver an unmistakeable and unforgettable message, all the same.

I am in your debt for the chance to look at what you have made. If I may be of help relative to your film, I hope you will let me know. My best wishes for your work, Elena!

                                                                                    --Dr. Michael Trout, APPPAH Vice-President




Every young woman in the world, before she even thinks of having a child, should see "Birth As We Know It"! Every woman needs to know that she has a choice between fear and joy. This film is about the happiest day in a woman's life ­ the day she gives birth. It will help her to prepare for a joyous birth, instead of a possibly wretched one and avoid the pitfalls of 'modern' medicine, which fails to recognize that birth is a normal, natural process that women have been carrying out successfully for five million years.

This film will lead her toward experiencing the empowerment that a natural birth will give her, which is her birthright. It is unlikely that she will ever see as important a film again during her lifetime."

                                                                         -- Dr. George C. Denniston, MPH, Retired Professor of Family Medicine, University of Washington President, Population Dynamics, Seattle WA President, Doctors Opposing Circumcision Former Associate Medical Director, Planned Parenthood Federation of America


Truly a landmark global production! It could be carried as a new class of documentaries!

Elena Tonetti-Vladimorova has cracked the egg open before our eyes. Nothing can bring female valor and compassion so vividly into our awareness. Nothing can reveal more tenderness. She shows the last vestiges of our technological age for just what it is ...efficient but mildy ruthless ... its time to make the next move to a real global civilization not just another economy. It is time to do that with the compassion deeply inherent in our natural ways of being. She has compiled the evidence in the most moving way. This is a planetary moment. One of the most cherished events in life has now been brought to the altar in the most peaceful way it can happen.

                                                                                  --Jim Channon, Social Architecture


Beautifully crafted and visually stunning, Birth as we know it not only inspires us to birth consciously; it also gives us the information we need to prepare our minds and bodies for this pivotal event. Birth as we know it will be invaluable for mothers, fathers, midwives and everyone involved with birth and babies, awakening us all to the central role of birth in life-long health and wellbeing.

It is amazing, one of the most powerful birth films that I have seen. Inspiring, informative, delightful, full of gems and stories to counteract this crazy world we live in...I love your narration, so natural and yet profound, I wanted to write down so much of what you said. I also found it personally profound, your understanding of life, limbic imprinting, your dancing... Simply amazing!

                                                                                    --Dr. Sarah J. Buckley, GP/family physician, Author of Gentle Birth, Gentle Mothering; The wisdom and science of gentle choices in pregnancy, birth, and parenting"


Recently I had the pleasure of watching your new film "Birth As We Know It". I found it so inspiring! well intended and well documented.

Actually, I have seen some of the raw, unedited footage of Tatiana and Igor Chaikovsky at the 3rd International Dolphin/Whale Conference in Hawaii in 1991. It was what inspired me to have a water birth!

So, later we ourselves birthed our first son here, IN THE OCEAN!

He was born Jan. 1 , 1993. We built a raft and moored it 1/4 km off shore and sunk the raft below the water surface so i could be sitting underwater, floating in the ocean. (Tidal changes here make it difficult to sit on the shoreline to calmly give birth as the waves would be pushing and pulling constantly.) Our birth experiences, both with our first and later our second (on land) were all that your movie is about.

We were fortunate to have been able to take responsibility for birthing our sons as we wanted to...naturally, consciously and sacredly.

Also my pregnancies were equally embraced as an incredibly amazing time for me when I devoted as much time and attention as I possibly could to the betterment of my health - mentally, physically and spiritually... Indulging in self awareness not only for my own benefit but for the second heart that was beating inside me!!! It was my duty. What a blessed gracious gift from God...conceiving, growing and birthing babies!!! Aahhh...then raising them is a thousand times rewarding even more than the lead up pregnancy/birthing times.....

Well, Elena, I just wanted you to know how much I enjoyed your video and hope it serves to inspire many many people to follow their hearts and have conscious births. Blessing to you and our eternal gratitude.

                                                                                   --Amy Khoo, from Costa Rica


I spent a morning on your film and other treasures on your DVD - all bonus features, going back and forth, and taking notes. I have already begun to spread the good news of your priceless work! My congratulations and best wishes!

                                                                    --Dr. David Chamberlain, Psychologist, Author, The Mind of Your Newborn Baby


I was at the screening at the 'Open Secret'. I was very impressed with your film! Thank you for making it! It touched me very deeply. My friend, Jonathan, was also touched deeply – he was re-experiencing his birth trauma during the screening! I told him to breathe through it rather than leave (which he was ready to do) and he said later he felt deeply healed. Did you know your film could do that?

I suggest you add this to your introduction when you show the film: "This film could, in fact, re-stimulate your own birth trauma. This can be a good thing if you don't resist it. Breathe through the feelings and know you can survive them. This can be a great opening for you...." I was a trained re-birther, so I took a lot of people through re-experience of their birth trauma. It was easy for me, except that I was re-experiencing my own circumcision trauma while watching your film... OUCH!

                                                                    --Lion Goodman, Evocateur


Bravo, Elena!  You deserve accolades for bringing the beauty of birth, with its miraculous possibilities, to the attention of all those who have observed birth as normative abuse! Birth needs to be acknowledged as the orgasm of womanhood and honored in that light. When women are prepared, birth is an ecstatic experience, and you have documented and shown it in such a way that there can be no doubt about its potential.

                                                                     --Marilyn Milos



I show your film in my Birthing Body & Soul class. I have had such incredible positive feedback! I think it teaches something I have not seen anywhere else. It is such a valuable contribution to our work!

                                                                     --Shelley Campbell, Childbirth Educator


I showed 'Birth As We Know It' to my daughter-in-law, who was born by c-section because she was breech. She collapsed into hysterical sobs. As she witnessed c-section in the film, she was re-visiting her own traumatic birth.

After the crying was over she felt an enormous release. Six years of therapy in one hour!! Even though her own son was breech, she chose to deliver at home, unassisted. It was quite a remarkable healing for Donelle, and Elena said she has the same stories from women all over the world. This is an exquisite film!

                                                                      --Marilyn Milos, NOCIRC Founder and President


I just can't thank you enough for contributing your film to my library. It is amazing. Inspiring. Life changing... !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

                                                                       --Corey Colwell-Lipson


Rich with some of the most stunning images of birth that I have seen, "Birth As We Know It" captures the peace and connection of the birth experience and beautifully demonstrates that pregnancy offers a profound opportunity for increased awareness, opening, and transformation. Imparting an important and powerful message through its bold statements and imagery, Birth As We Know It will infuse women with the inner knowing that they can create a natural and loving journey into birth. I highly recommend this film to health care providers and prospective parents alike.

                                                                  --Vicki Abrams, CCE, IBCLC, Director of the Childbirth Education Program at the  Chopra Center for Wellbeing


E-mail exchange with a medical student at Harvard about circumcision:

From: Colleen Harrison   To: Elena Tonetti-Vladimirova

Sent: Monday, November 27, 2006 5:59 PM   Subject: Your circumcision video

Hello, I'm a medical student at Harvard and I recently saw your video on U-Tube about circumcision. Could you tell me anything that would help me defend myself and your video against my classmates' claims that it contains false information, is biased against Jews, and tells only one side of the story? I sent the video link to my class and unwittingly received a bunch of angry calls!

Help!!!    Thanks, Colleen Harrison

***

From: Elena Tonetti    To: Colleen Harrison    Sent: Monday, November 27, 2006 7:07 PM

Dear Colleen!

I am so sorry you got into so much trouble. But I praise your desire to learn more. There is a lot of info on the subject on many sites dedicated to it by numerous organizations committed to stopping that insanity. If Jewish and Muslim people want to mutilate their babies, it's on their conscience, but why 75% of ALL babies in the US are being mutilated, has no explanation or justification. NO ONE medical association in the world, including American, recommends it. The video does not contain any false information. I have some links on my "resources" page on my site, as well as the article on circumcision.

Actually, I remember some of the links by heart: www.circumcision.org  www.nocirc.org  www.noharmm.org

www.norm.org   www.icgi.org    www.cirp.org    www.infocirc.org    and many, many others...

Good luck!  May you find your truth!

Elena

***

From Elena Tonetti wrote to Marilyn Milos and George Denniston:

"Marilyn, George! how can we help this kid?"

ET

***

From: Marilyn Milos   To: Elena Tonetti

Sent: Tuesday, November 28, 2006 8:32 AM

Hi Elena,

I wrote this to Colleen:

Dear Colleen,

The video does not contain any false claims. The information is accurate.

I tried to save that baby. The mother was willing to leave the boy intact but the father insisted on circumcision. The nurse's name is Dee and Dr. Ed Boyce performed the circumcision at Marin General Hospital in Greenbrae, California, in 1982. Sheila Curran and I were there to videotape the event...with the hope that it would spare other babies. It has.

A hospital circumcision is often done differently than a circumcision performed by a mohel at home. However, amputating highly erogenous tissue from the body of a newborn baby is always a painful and traumatic experience, even -- and perhaps, especially -- if the infant appears to fall asleep. Many babies go into a semi-comatose state as a way of defending themselves from the torture.

You can send anyone who challenges the circumcision video to me! I will respond.

Sincerely, Marilyn

Marilyn Fayre Milos, RN, Executive Director National Organization of Circumcision Information Resource Centers

***

On 11/27/06, Colleen Harrison wrote:

Dear Dr. Denniston,

Hello, I am a second-year medical student at Harvard Medical School. I would like to put on a lunch talk about the pros and cons of circumcision, and I was wondering whether your organization could put me in contact with any physicians in the Boston area who might be willing to give an hour of their time. Another student organization will provide the "pro" side, and I am specifically looking for a speaker to address the cons of circumcision.

Thank you,

Colleen Harrison

***

From: George C Denniston MD   Date: Nov 28, 2006 7:30 PM

Subject: Re: Looking for speaker on circumcision to come to Harvard Medical School

To: Colleen Harrison

Dear Colleen,

I am a graduate of Princeton University and the Harvard School of Public Health. I haave been dealing with this issue for decades as President of Doctors Opposing Circumcision (DOC). Those in favor of circumcision do not have a leg to stand on. I will send you a draft of what a circumciser is.

I do have the perfect speaker for you. He is Ronald Goldman PhD, director of the Circumcision Resource Center in Boston. My only regret is that I cannot be there to hear the discussion. You can contact him at crc@circumcision.org 617-523-0088 Do take a look at our website, and especially the foreskin curriculum, and the video about the foreskin. They are both quite short. You are already with us, but this will give you the most info quickly. It is terribly sad, but my Jewish friends do have a lot of difficulty with this issue.

DOC does not approve of religious circumcision, because I was persuaded by a Harvard philosopher that if circumcision is harmful (of which I have NO doubt) then I cannot discriminate against Jewish boys by not including them in our efforts to eradicate circumcision. So we are pro-semitic in reality.

For now, George Denniston MD MPH

"Dear Elena,

Please bask every day in the knowledge that you have produced a masterpiece that is changing the world. I am the witness. After that, everything can be anticlimax and still it will be wonderful. "

Dr. George C. Denniston

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"This is a planetary moment. One of the most cherished events in life has now been brought to the altar in the most peaceful way it can happen.. Not only is the moment of birth a deserved public event but the way in which the birth can now be a family tradition is profound."

                                                        --Jim Channon, Global Social Architect


 

"Every young woman in the world, before she even thinks of having a child, should see Birth As We Know It. Every woman needs to know that she has a choice between fear and joy. This film is about the happiest day in a woman's life ­ the day she gives birth. It will help her to prepare for a joyous birth, instead of a possibly wretched one and avoid the pitfalls of 'modern' medicine, which fails to recognize that birth is a normal, natural process that women have been carrying out successfully since the beginning of time. This film will lead her toward experiencing the empowerment that a natural birth will give her, which is her birthright. It is unlikely that she will ever see as important a film again during her lifetime."

George C. Denniston MD, MPH, Retired Professor of Family Medicine, University of Washington

President, Population Dynamics, Seattle WA

President, Doctors Opposing Circumcision

Former Associate Medical Director,

Planned Parenthood Federation of America


"I spent a morning with Birth As We Know It and have already begun to spread the good news of this priceless work. My congratulations and best wishes"

-Dr. David Chamberlain, Psychologist

Author, The Mind of Your Newborn Baby

Editor, www.birthpsychology.com


"Elena Vladimorova has cracked the egg open before our eyes. Nothing can bring female valor and compassion so vividly into our awareness. Nothing can reveal more tenderness. She shows the last vestiges of our technological age for just what it is ...efficient but mildly ruthless ... its time to make the next move to a real global civilization. It is time to do that with the compassion deeply inherent in our natural ways of being. She has compiled the evidence in the most moving way. Three cheers for the director and the dancer! Truly a landmark global production."

-Jim Channon, Global Social Architect


"Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful film, I love it. I am a Doula trainer and international speaker. I showed the film at two Doula workshops recently- one in Austria and the other in the Netherlands and all loved your film."

-Debra Pascali-Bonaro -- www.orgasmicbirth.com


"I have been showing Amber and Nassim's birth in my Birthing Body & Soul class which I teach at a local pediatricians office. I have had such incredible positive feedback! I think it teaches something I have not seen anywhere else. It is such a valuable contribution to our work. The whole film is! but I get a very direct feedback on that section and it is wonderful."

-Shelley Campbell, childbirth educator


"We must pay tribute to Elena for prompting us to re-examine basic features of human nature. Her film explains why millions of women, all over the world, dream of giving birth in the sea, among dolphins."

-Dr. Michel Odent


"I was spellbound with 'Birth As We Know It'. I will watch it again and again for years to come".

Stephanie Neurohr, filmmaker and mother of 7


"I just can’t thank you enough for contributing your film to my library. It is amazing. Inspiring. Life changing!!!!!!!!!! If you are ever in the Seattle area, please let me know as I would be honored to meet you and or hear you speak. Very best wishes"

-Corey Colwell-Lipson


"Bravo, Elena! You deserve accolades for bringing the beauty of birth, with its miraculous possibilities, to the attention of all those who have observed birth as normative abuse! Birth needs to be acknowledged as the orgasm of womanhood and honored in that light. When women are prepared, birth is an ecstatic experience, and you have documented and shown it in such a way that there can be no doubt about its potential."

-Marilyn Milos


"This film delivers a powerful transmission of what it really takes to give birth consciously."

-Tatiana Sargunas, spiritual midwife, mother of 4.


"I'm absolutely elated about my birthing experience and am forever grateful to the film "Birth As We Know It" for instilling the confidence in me to have my baby at home, rather than in the hospital as I had been planning to do. I am 42 and it is my first baby. My doctor told me I was a "high risk" category, so a c-section was due. When I heard in the film that birthing a child could be blissful rather than painful I was very surprised to hear such a thing as the idea was completely foreign to me. Watching so many beautiful women giving birth so peacefully, helped my fears to melt away. It enabled me to avoid a build up of anxiety as the due date approached and put me into a significantly relaxed frame of mind. Not only that, the notion of having my baby in the water was also completely new and totally appealing as I feel very relaxed in water.

Everything brought forward in this film was well articulated in a beautiful way that rang true for me, especially the things about how our own birth trauma affects our self-confidence during the delivery. I believe everybody, especially those planning on having a child, would benefit greatly from seeing it."

-Simone Italia age 42


"I live in Costa Rica in the Gulfo Dulce. Recently I had the pleasure of watching your new film "Birth As We Know It". I found it so inspiring! well intended and well documented. Actually, I have seen some of the raw, unedited footage of Tatiana and Igor Chaikovsky at the 3rd International Dolphin/Whale Conference in Hawaii in 1991. It was what inspired me to have a water birth! So, later we ourselves birthed our first son here, IN THE OCEAN! He was born Jan. 1 , 1993. We built a raft and moored it 1/4 km off shore and sunk the raft below the water surface so i could be sitting underwater, floating in the ocean. (Tidal changes here make it difficult to sit on the shoreline to calmly give birth as the waves would be pushing and pulling constantly.) Our birth experiences, both with our first and later our second (on land) were all that your movie is about. We were fortunate to have been able to take responsibility for birthing our sons as we wanted to...naturally, consciously and sacredly. Also my pregnancies were equally embraced as an incredibly amazing time for me when I devoted as much time and attention as I possibly could to the betterment of my health - mentally, physically and spiritually... Indulging in self awareness not only for my own benefit but for the second heart that was beating inside me!!! It was my duty. What a blessed gracious gift from God...conceiving, growing and birthing babies!!! Aahhh...then raising them is a thousand times rewarding even more than the lead up pregnancy/birthing times....."

-Amy

www.yogapavones.com


"I recently bought the DVD Birth As We Know It. My son has just turned a year old and I still feel that I never gave birth to him. He was simply removed from my body by c-section after a failed induction. The induction was done, basically, due to nervous midwife and doctor.

Despite having trained as a doula and planning a water birth at home, I still ended up in a hospital, not being able to hold my son until 12 hours after he was born and suffering badly from post-natal depression.

I hope to have more children and seeing this DVD has helped me find a starting place. I realize now that I have so much work to do on myself before i can consider another child. I need to find that belief in my body that has been so devastated by my past experience. This has been such a gift to me, and I am so thankful to find this information that I had to thank you for it. I live in South Africa, which I'm told has the highest c-section rate in the world (around 80% of all births). It is very hard to find support for natural childbirth - from friends and family alone, never mind health professionals! I'm considered quite crazy for even considering homebirth an option. I hope once I have worked through my own issues that I will be able to give something back, hopefully by educating women in my country about just how wonderful their bodies are and that we are designed perfectly to give birth without intervention. Your film will be instrumental in my efforts. thank you again for this wonderful gift you have given the world."

-Sarah


5.0 out of 5 stars Really excellent documentary., April 12, 2013

By Katherine (perdu au Québec) - 

I didn't buy this before my first birth, and now watching it, I wish I would have. I didn't have a difficult labour and birth with my child, but the spiraling might have helped make it easier.

The price is a bit ridiculous, which is probably why I didn't buy it then. Now a friend loaned it to me, so I finally saw it.

We may yet try the lotus birth, so it was interesting to see some discussion on that.

I would like to see if it works for us to go the workshop before we are due. I think it would be really interesting.

Much gratitude to the people who worked to put this film together.

I did not see anything judgemental or prosecutorial in this film towards people who have had C-sections. Rather it is addressed very matter-of-factly and in an extremely loving way.

For the people who get so defensive about this film, I would say, birth trauma is well-recognised in the mental health profession. Don't dwell on the past. Look to the future. You did the best you could with what you knew at the time, and nobody is critical of you for it.


5.0 out of 5 stars An Unusual Gem!, March 17, 2013

By M. Hazlewood "Universal Wellness" (Florida) - 

Wow, an abundance of unusual, breathe of fresh air information. Elena Tonetti-Vladmiova is definitely a pioneer in assisting birthing moms back to birthing as nature intended..focusing on a celebration of welcoming the Little One gently into the world not a medical procedure.


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Deeply Moving Film, November 29, 2012

By J. Steven Svoboda "arclaw3" (Berkeley, CA)

Elena Vladimirova, formerly known as Elena Tonetti, has created a remarkable DVD that explores "conscious birth." Conscious birth seems not to be a cut-and-dried birthing technique but rather refers to a broader perspective encompassing such possible features as water birth, natural birth, home birth, use of midwives and doulas, absence of circumcision, absence of episiotomy, and indeed, absence of physicians from the birth process. Both mother and father will bring all of themselves to the ideal conscious birth, loving their baby beyond the power of words to convey and welcoming him or her into the world with the gentlest and most loving introduction possible.

This DVD is deeply, at times almost painfully, moving and is profoundly worth viewing for all intactivists. While only six minutes of the film relate directly to circumcision, this segment is fascinating in itself, and is well-integrated into the flow of the film as a whole. Handily enough, this portion can also be easily located in the feature film thanks to its inclusion among the menu's special features.

In my opinion, the film would have benefited from being edited by a sympathetic outside party. The same message could easily be conveyed by a film shorter than this one's 200 total minutes (75 minutes for the feature film), and for most people the effectiveness would be improved. I also found Ms. Vladimirova's Russian accent distracting, especially given the length of the video. It would feel more appropriate and also more ear-friendly for voices to be provided by a variety of speakers, perhaps by both men and women, and certainly by some for whom English is a native tongue.

Overall, "Birth as we know it" is an excellent film, and is highly recommended to all people interested in genital integrity and the process by which babies enter our world.


5.0 out of 5 stars Trans-formative, May 15, 2010

By Katrina R. Kirkwood "Labor Doula  (Western Wa) - 

This movie is trans-formative. It showed me not only what truly unhindered birth could look like, and that it was possible, but it was my first peak into orgasmic childbirth. My core was shaken- in a good way! I watched this movie several times during my 3rd pregnancy and enjoy watching it still. I recommend this movie to anyone who is interested in natural childbirth, home birth, unhindered birth, unassisted birth...


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, March 29, 2010

By PrimitiveMommy  (Las Vegas NV) -

If every woman had the opportunity to see this before birthing their first baby things in the world would change! I don't know anybody who had a good experience in the hospital and most resorted to other options for their following births. I love this movie and lend it out to every pregnant friend I have.


3.0 out of 5 stars i'm on the fence about this one, September 5, 2008

By  wahmama (portland, or) - 

i've been lucky enough to see many, many birth videos. some are short, expensive & extremely worth every penny for the knowledge they impart, others are long & controversial. while i was nervous about watching the circumcision, i did & it was every bit as horrible as a photo of a circumstraint would have you imagine. i'm proud to have kept my son intact. as for the "ice dipping" that is shown; i cannot, for the life of me, figure out how that could possibly be beneficial for either pregnant woman, child or infant, as all are seen immersing themselves completely in meltwater. i can tell you from experience that contraction pain feels nothing like - and is totally different from - the pain experienced in extreme cold. they have different functions. contractions open you up, while freezing shuts you down. i disagree strongly with concept of dunking a helpless infant under freezing water. throwing snow on a naked infant seems pointless & cruel. and what's up with the passive mothers just staring down at their babies while the midwives float them around underwater? pick that baby up & smile! cuddle your precious newborn! don't sit there like, "can i pick her up yet, please?" okay, okay... my favorite aspects of this film are birthing in the sea (how fun would that be?! yay!), lots of labor support, smiling mamas, peaceful music & yes, the circumcision. because people need to see how barbaric it is. so that's my .02. i like it, i don't love it, but i don't hate it.


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Video, April 27, 2008

By Summer Bepristis "Breathe Easy Doula" (Ben Lomond, CA USA) 

 This review is from: Birth As We Know It (DVD)

It was so fun to watch the swimming babies and to see how happy the families were!


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You Elena for your continuous commitment to getting this out here!, October 20, 2007

By Marguerite Link Carney "Marguerite Link Carney" (Wanaka, NZ) - 

I think I met Elena at the first International Water Birth Conference long ago... I remember hoping to all Hope that she would succeed in getting this work through into the world. I moved to New Zealand 4 years ago and left my midwifery practice to become a mom. I have since been riding on a strong learning curve and only now am ready to re-enter the world as a Birthing Keeper in some more active way. Seeing this DVD (finally!) has brought all of my joy flooding back and my Hope that more and more humans can come into closer understanding of the potential within us all. Potential is ripe and ready for our species to rise out of numbness and intolerance and breathe more fully into the heart of matters. I remember in watching this DVD thinking, "Oh my, this is precisely the Vector I would like my world to be heading in!" and I will be organizing groups to come and watch this film and open a safe space to discuss whatever emerges to be felt, cleared, realized, or whatever! I thank all of the Ones who with unshakable resolve, dedicate their hearts to the Truth of Birth...and LIFE!

Much gratitude and joy, and what a surprise to see the birth of some friends in Hawaii!!

absolutely, of the most important of messages, i add this dvd to the list I am wishing for all health education programs to share with our children in schools. one generation...

cheers from NZ dear Ones!

Marguerite Link Carney


5.0 out of 5 stars Rare Glimpse of the Possible, July 1, 2007

By Sharon Pezdirtz "Wellness Director" (Albuquerque, NM) 

While the overwhelming majority of TV documentaries show women, who appear to have poor diet & lifestyle habits, undergo risky deliveries with the help of marvelous modern technology, this DVD presents a refreshing alternative. No one is judging those who of us who require emergency procedures in order to have a successful birth. The statistics simply speak for themselves. Scheduled C-sections have become very routine. This is a beautiful film showing the possibilities. The stories shared are true life examples of courageous women. The viewer is responsible to decide for herself. After viewing the film, one friend of mine said," Even if I don't have a baby, just from watching that video, I feel I can do anything!" This film is about empowerment. The real women in the film exemplify cherishing our lives by caring for ourselves and for our children with a level of consciousness that is available to anyone who makes the effort. Simply put, this film may help viewers to organize priorities in life. Well done!


5.0 out of 5 stars A Mystical Experience, June 23, 2007

By Rahasya Poe (Chico, CA) - 

Before watching "Birth As We Know It" I was prepared for a typical informational type of documentary. What I wasn't expecting was to be taken on an experience that was a truly Mystical Experience. The DVD has been the starting point of many conversations with my wife and friends about life and the sacred experience it is.

Rahasya & Dhara, Publishers of Lotus Guide Magazine  


5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend this video to everyone I know!, June 23, 2007

By Kerry Tuschhoff (Cypress, CA United States) - 

As the founder and director of Hypnobabies, I truly value representations of real childbirth, and this film is excellent. No "hippies", just real people who intelligently understand the body's ability to give birth naturally, without technology.

In this age of the unnecessary medicalization of childbirth, I recommend that all women see this video, in the hopes that they can regain the inner knowledge which they have somehow lost: Women already know how to give birth, in their hearts, minds and bodies, and real intuitive childbirth still exists.


5.0 out of 5 stars An Instant Classic, June 23, 2007

By Amazon Customer (San Diego, CA USA) -

This remarkable film rolls education, art, beauty, and hope into one package. The birthing segments alone are worth the price of admission, but the added instrumental version and the special features on lotus birth and the consequences of circumcision make this work a true masterpiece. After experiencing it, the viewer can't help but imagine how different our world might be if natural birth was the norm and not just an "alternative choice".

"Birth As We Know It" is essential viewing for prospective parents, OB/GYNs, midwives, doulas, birthing instructors, and anyone who has an interest in natural childbirth and waterbirth. For those who have already had children or who don't plan to become parents, watch this DVD and let yourself be swept away.


5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I were born this way!, June 23, 2007

By Burke Franklin (Chico, CA) -

Very inspiring film -- so many happy births... not the traumatic western birth I enjoyed (not!) with all the screaming, spanking, and crying. In a way, a very healing film to watch because I can imagine/pretend/store-to-my-memory that I was given birth this way. As an author (Business Black Belt) and developer (BizPlanBuilder business planning software), I know first-hand how much research and development goes into a project like this to get it right. It's very different than what we (USA) perceive as the way to give birth, but watch the video and you'll go this way every time!


5.0 out of 5 stars What is Quipper's problem?, June 22, 2007

By Lion Goodman "Evocateur" (Marin County, California) - 

In Quipper's review, below, s/he complains about nudity, hippies, and people enjoying the birth process. As a student of psychology, and an owner of this DVD, I have a suspicion that Quipper had a very difficult birth, and this DVD reminded Quipper of his or her own birth trauma. When I watched it, I remembered some of the trauma of my own birth (and my circumcision!), and I breathed through the memories. This freed something up in me. Quipper apparently decided to make the film wrong and bad, when s/he could have just done a little therapy instead. The alternative explanation is that Quipper was raised by fundamentalists who believed that the human body is inherently bad, or that it should be covered up at all times. I wonder how s/he takes a shower. Fully clothed, I would guess.

If you're a prude, or can't deal with images of the human body in its exquisite beauty during the birth process, don't buy this DVD. Otherwise, watch the DVD and be amazed at what is possible when a woman cooperates with nature during the birth process. I wish we had seen this before our daughter was born. It's a beautiful work of practical art.

<<note from the editor of the DVD reviews: we have read all the negative reviews and are in the process of writing responses.  :) >>


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST FILM EVER!, June 22, 2007

By Jeanice Barcelo (Maui) -

This film is the most outstanding expression of sacred birth imaginable. The footage of birth is exquisitely beautiful and the wisdom offered about what is involved in creating a gentle birth is outstanding. I think all young adults should view this film before getting pregnant so they have the highest possible vision for their future.

TWENTY THUMBS UP!!!


5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring natural birth footage, June 19, 2007

By T. Lewis "mama bliss" (ontario canada) - 

This video helps pregnant women and those that work with them to be inspired by the beauty of natural birth in a natural setting. Great information too!! I would encourage all women even those that are not having a water birth to check this out. 


 5.0 out of 5 stars Birth As We Know It DVD....., June 18, 2007

By K. Shuster - 

I absolutely LOVED this DVD. It was beautifully made and narrated. I was completely in awe and inspired by the women who shared their births with the camera. I hope to bring what I have learned from the DVD to my own birth this August. Thank you for making this DVD!


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful for Expectant Families, May 26, 2007

By Living The Questions (Portland, OR) -

A lot has been said about this DVD so I'll keep my review brief. We're expecting a child this fall and watch Birth as We Know It with our six year old, often. She loves it. It prepares us for a home water birth with loving attention on the mystery of birth, and the sacredness of it, when experienced at home with great support and without a sense of medical emergency. It's a blessing that this DVD is available, along with the Mexican DVD, Birth Day. Together, they have us ready, excited, and prepared.


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Birth, March 29, 2007

By David B. Chamberlain "psychologist" (Nevada City, CA) -

Elena's superb video introduces us to a new quality of birth that is worthy of the new millennium--joyful, robust, safe and humane birth that embodies psychological/spiritual standards rarely met by the medicalized birth rituals of the 20th century. This new birth is natural and within reach of all couples who will devote themselves to conscious conception, conscious parenting, and the appropriate birthing of conscious babies. Just seeing this new kind of birth inspires in women the sense that they too can do it. The vision is catching and gives us grounds for hope in a new society that ends right because it starts right--with the ultimate human birth.


5.0 out of 5 stars Birth As We Know It, March 22, 2007

By Julie B. Peet -

This review is from: Birth As We Know It (DVD)

Fabulous !!! Excellent.!!! Real and important information if we are to help bring peace to this world. Beautifully done. 


5.0 out of 5 stars A sacred film that will be cherished for many generations to come..., February 18, 2007

By Lindsey Meehleis "Love 4 Birth" (Irvine, CA USA) - 

Finally a film that shows exactly what normal sacred birth looks like! :)

Bravo, bravo, bravo to the makers of this movie. It has touched me so deeply to have this sacred film that explains in perfect words what birth is all about. Anyone who is pregnant or is thinking of getting pregnant HAS TO SEE THIS FILM!


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely a Must See!!, February 11, 2007

By Simone Italia (Paradise CA) - 

I recommend it for everyone; I think it should be shown in schools. Extremely important and inspiring information. THANK YOU ELENA!!!!!


 5.0 out of 5 stars birth as we all must know it, February 6, 2007

By G. Lee (burlington nj) - 

This is soooo beautifull, i could watch it over and over again. I just gave mine away to a lending library because i think every one needs to see this !


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Informative, February 2, 2007

By Jon Christopher Attwood (Fremont, CA USA) 

My partner and I heard of Elena's video from a friend, and ordered it on their valued suggestion. We are both very happy that we trusted a friend and bought this very informative and tastefully done video. We were 3 months along when we viewed it, and really enjoyed the gentle reminders of how birth should be. If you are wondering if this is worth looking into, I would say resoundingly YES. This video goes in depth into the development of a movement that is changing a generation.


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful addition to natural childbirth library, February 1, 2007

By Ellie (Canton, NC) - 

Pictures speak a thousand words, and this is full of eloquent words and wonderful healing images, also honest look at circumcision and c-section. Worth it's weight in gold, a priceless gift. thank you to all who participated in this dvd. gives me hope for our world. This is valuable for all involved in childbirth, both families and professionals. Well done.


5.0 out of 5 stars Birth as it Should Be, February 1, 2007

By Jia - 

Elena Tonetti-Vladimirova, the creator of "Birth Into Being" has done a remarkable job of showing us how water births can be so rewarding to mother, father and child. Birth should not be an experience that women fear but an experience that excites us and we look forward to. "Birth Into Being" shows us how birth can be a positive experience for everyone.The women who offered their birthing experience to us through this DVD are to be admired as they are showing us a new way . . . a new way of birthing. I want to thank Elena for her great contribution to all women of the world. May her work reach the far corners of Earth.


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for every pregnant couple and obgyn!, February 1, 2007

By Sarah C. Alexander (Sebastopol, Ca) -

In a time when home birth is ~still~ so embattled in the USA, this documentary beautifully and intellingently illuminates the importance of a pregnant woman and her mate preparing emotionally, physically, spiritually for birth and parenting, and in the process becoming confident in the natural power of a womans body to give birth. Fear can impede or shut down a womans capacity to give birth naturally, and it is time that the medical profession become aware of its role in inducing fear and disempowerment in women about their own capabilities. It is time to stop the cycle of self fulfilling prophecy about birth being of necesity a medical orchestration!

I showed this video in one of our seminars that involves an adaptation of rebirthing, to demonstrate the power of being fully emotionally and physically present in our bodies!

Sarah Alexander

Director,

Soulwave Institute 


5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderfully healing video!, January 31, 2007

By Patricia Robinett - 

I first saw the baby swimming with dolphins segment of this video at a symposium last summer. My artistic self swooned.

Then I watched the main movie at home. I was moved by the profound love and beauty of the births.

I only recently watched the director's cut segment. Elena's gentle voice and words of wisdom helped me rethink, reframe, release, and heal a lot of old tensions from my own harsh hospital birth and circumcision (see my book here on amazon, "The Rape of Innocence").

I highly encourage you to watch "Birth As We Know It" and to show it to every person you possibly can. We have the potential to transform the world by returning the art of birthing to its roots. Birth need not be a medical emergency. And, as Elena makes clear in the video, it is important that mothers and fathers release their own birth trauma so they can relax fully during the birthing process.

Frederick LeBoyer and all the angels must surely be smiling. 


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Informative video, January 31, 2007

By Sara Chapell (Haines, Alaska) -

 This is a beautiful movie- perfect for expectant couples, childbirth classes, or anyone interested in learning about gentle, conscious birth. The film itself is wonderful, and the "extras" are also very well-made and compelling. This is one of my favorite birth videos.


5.0 out of 5 stars such a wonderful tool, January 30, 2007

By Serenity Dixon (West Columbia, SC United States) 

As a woman who has given birth, I can't say enough wonderful things about this DVD. As a birthing instructor, I am deeply indebted to Elena Tonetti for providing my students with such a wonderful teaching tool. I would highly recommend it to anyone preparing to give birth.


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Gentle Birth, January 29, 2007

By Tanis Marble (Santa Barbara, CA) - 

This film is a wonderful tool to help parents (and birth professionals) prepare for gentle birth in any setting. As a teacher of prenatal and perinatal psychology classes and parenting coach, I highly recommend this DVD to anyone interested in natural birth and making the birth experience as emotionally and physically optimal as posssible for parents as well as baby. Birth with the dolphins is beautiful... and witnessing an orgasmic birth is sure to inspire any pregnant mama!


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, January 29, 2007

By Tara Tulley (Lindon Utah) -

This is one of the sweetest Birth Videos I have seen yet! Thank you for spreading Joyfull Birth! 


 5.0 out of 5 stars Best birth video!, January 29, 2007

By ChalC "Shelley" (Granite Bay, CA USA) -

If couples could only see one birth video before their baby is born, this is it! How refreshing to see women and couples who are comfortable with and enjoy birth.


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a Beautiful and Important Film!!, January 29, 2007

By Kundalini R. Bennett "Kundalini Rose" (Portland, OR) -

Wow! I watched this film last night and was hugely impacted in the most positive way. Thank you so much Elena, for making this film. I am sure that your efforts will have a tremendous impact on the way humans enter this life and will in turn have a huge impact on humanity and life on this planet.

I whole heartedly recommend this film to EVERYONE, not just those thinking of having children!


5.0 out of 5 stars Just viewed it, January 29, 2007

By T. Bryson (Calif USA) -

This documentary was astounding. It covered areas I never thought of and I believe it would be and should be an essential part of any womans pregnacy.


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Watch for Obstetricians and Midwives, January 28, 2007

By Veronica Falcao "Ronnie Falcao, Midwife" (Mountain View, CA USA) -

This video will present a perspective of birth unlike anything you have ever seen! You need to watch this to see what birth can be. Then imagine adding the minimal level of medical observation and only NECESSARY intervention, and you'll have a new vision of birth that will be a gift to birthing women and babies.


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Watch if You Are Pregnant or Plan on Ever Being So, January 28, 2007

By R. Roth - 

This is a beautiful, awe-inspiring, informative movie that I believe every pregnant woman, her partner, and her children (if they are interested in attending a birth or knowing more about birth) should watch. This movie shows how peaceful and natural birth can be when we allow it to happen as nature intended. This DVD was recommended to me as a means to help prepare my daughter to witness the birth of her sibling. She is only 2 1/2, but she wanted to be present and I wanted her to be prepared for the event. She was fascinated, watching these mothers work hard to birth their babies and watching the babies emerge so peacefully (most into water) and then seeing them placed right onto their mothers' chests - it was the perfect introduction to birth for her. As for me, I have been inspired to try a water birth myself. Buy it. You will not be disappointed.


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing..., January 28, 2007

By Anne N. Seehafer (Chico, CA) -

A beautiful depiction of the natural child birth process and the amazing strength of womankind.


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Empowering!, January 28, 2007

By Salli Gonzalez -

Birth as We Know It is being used by our Childbirth Education Dept. to show couples the power and autonomy that a family can have in their birthing experience. Even though the couple may choose a more private affair, "Birth As We Know It" helps them to know that they have the power to choose for themselves the way they want to give birth.

Salli Gonzalez, Apprentice Midwife, Doula, CD(DONA), Family Birth Center, New Braunfels, TX. 


 5.0 out of 5 stars Birth can be BETTER???, January 28, 2007

By Vivienne L. H. Stevenson -

I have given birth to three children. One was hospital born, and two were home water births. The last was delivered by myself (in the water). At the times that I experienced all of these births, I thought that they were very empowering experiences. Then I watched this video and discovered that I can even improve on my last, "perfect" experience! Wow. I want another try!

Love

Vivienne


5.0 out of 5 stars At Last !!!, January 28, 2007

By Kim Lessard "(Giasson) Mackey" (Auburn, Maine) -

At last there is a film that shows birth as it was/is intended to be! Powerful, Emotional, Beautiful, Instinctive and Natural! It is so refreshing to see births occur without the trauma inducing interventions that have come to be thought of as the "norm". As a Doula and Childbirth Awareness Educator, I find this film to be an invaluable tool. As a woman and mother, I'd like every woman on this planet to have an opportunity to view this film and come to know the awesome power that is her legacy, indeed her birth right. By transforming the birth experiences of today, we will transform the world of tomorrow. Through this amazing work of art, Elena and these woman have provided a beacon to light that path.


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece to Change The World, January 28, 2007

By  Richard H. Roth (Chico, CA USA) - 

The power of books to change the face of the world is a rare but accepted event. Rarer and less accepted is the power of film. But media producer Elena (Vladimirova) Tonetti has crafted just such a potent work in Birth As We Know It. Elegant, and patient, the film springs out of - and dwarfs - her previous delightful compilation Birth Into Being. This is a far matured, measured and more wonderful work.

In the early 1980 s a group of remarkable women and their partners, of which Elena was one, convived a series of Birth Camps next to the Black Sea. There they prepared themselves and each other, against medical practice and advice, learning as they went, to give birth to their children in the sea. They were accompanied and inspired by dolphins, the wind, the rugged landscape, the sea around them, each-other and each succeeding birth.

The most amazing treasure of this film is not the natural beauty and grace of the mothers and celebrated children in her film, whether birthed in the sea, the home bath, or on the hospital delivery gurney. Rather it is the careful and measured narration Elena uses to direct us toward cognitive revelation. She does this in part by quietly and effectively juxtaposing these prepared for, relished and very peaceful births against common slap-dash medical practice, regular circumcision, and caesarian births.

A film to gently wake the dead parts of ourselves and our culture. A treasure for the yet to be born. Utterly magnificent!


5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL!!!, January 28, 2007

By Sandra D. Holihan - 

I am a homebirth midwife in NV and show this wonderful and informative dvd to all my clients. It is just that good!!!! Everyone leaves with a sense of awe and they really feel inspired.Thanks Elena.


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, January 28, 2007

By Marilyn F. Milos (San Anselmo, CA USA) 

Birth As We Know It depicts birth as we should know it. When we witness birth as an ecstatic experience, as we do again and again in this film, women will no longer birth in fear but instead they will birth in the magnificence of the life-changing event. And, babies born to women who birth in ecstacy will be a whole new breed--without birth trauma as a defining moment and without the normative abuses most of us experienced as newborns. Elena's film gives hope for birthing women, birthing babies, and for the world in which we all live. This is a must-see for everyone!


5.0 out of 5 stars Conscious childbirth at its best!, January 28, 2007

By Mrs. P. Glaum Torngren (Edgemead South Africa) 

 This is one of the most powerful and moving DVDs on childbirth that I have ever seen. It is a well known fact that the way people are born, determines to a large extent who and what they will become, and is a measure of emotional health. Taken one step further, how we birth our babies will determine the quality of societies and whole nations. This DVD shows babies being brought into the world with gentleness and love, and if it starts to be practiced widely, could have an impact on our society as a whole. It is a DVD I would recommend to every pregnant parent and every professional working with pregnancy and birth, and I hope it will begin to change our consciousness about birth and the way babies are brought into the world in future. Very highly recommended! - Pat Torngren (Childbirth and Family Life Educator, South Africa).


5.0 out of 5 stars A Modest Goal, January 27, 2007

By George C. Denniston "MD" (Olympic Peninsula, WA USA) - 

I have a modest goal for this masterpiece by Elena Tonetti-Vladimirova. I want every young woman in the entire world to see this DVD. This will give her freedom of choice with her births. She can choose to have a joyous birth, or not. This DVD helps to prevent so many behavioral problems that arise from common birth trauma. Parents can now have wonder children, and not spend much of their lives trying to repair the damage caused at birth. As a Professor of Family Medicine, University of Washington (retired), I say, "That is our birthright."

Already purchased in 51 countries (without any marketing plan!) this DVD is currently being translated into many languages.


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, January 27, 2007

By Dara Colacchio "Dara" (San Francisco) -

This wonderful new film explores and reveals deep wisdom in the natural process of giving birth. An essential film for anyone working with women and couples preparing to have a baby. A must see for anyone preparing to concieve and give birth! Thank you Elena and everyone who worked together to create this beautiful, educational and inspiring work of art. -- Highly recommended!!!


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, amazing glimpse into how birth can be, January 27, 2007

By Janice Wolfenberg "Midwyfjan" (Milwaukee, WI USA) -

I'm a homebirth midwife and I see natural births all the time. But when my own daughter-in-law was pregnant with my first grandchild last summer, I brought this video over so we could share it together. She loved it and we watched it more than once. We laughed together when I told her that I would try to remember tell her to "let herself become nice and juicy" as the narrator describes in her lovely Russian accent. And she said she wanted to be reminded to swirl her hips, as some of the women did in the video. Although she went 12 days overdue, she had a very efficient and successful home waterbirth in which she did indeed swirl her hips while pushing! And she told me later that she felt that watching this video really helped her prepare to surrender to her labor.

I have shared it with other moms too, and everyone thinks it's super. I've seen lots of birth videos, and believe me, this one is special. 


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely rivetting, January 27, 2007

By Estelle Myers "estelle myers" (Australia) -

As one of the early pioneers of water birth at the Rainbow Dolphin Centre in New Zealand 25 years ago, I have tried to get important visual material out there for prospective parents, midwives and doctors to view.

It is a very difficult and delicate task, this DVD has it all, and is an opportunity to get invaluable information to assist making and informed choice about using water as a birthing tool. Even if you are not preparing for birth it is a visually exciting production and well worth having to change your reality forever.

Estelle Myers

MApp.Sc.Hon.Phd

Founder Director

Rainbow Dolphin Centre


5.0 out of 5 stars New look at birthing..., January 27, 2007

By Heidi Riege "Heidi Riege" (Northern California) -

This video had amazing footage and an even more compelling message. It drew fair and telling comparisons between the births that most of us experienced ourselves (when we were born) and a possiblity for a new kind of birth. Though water birthing has taken place for generations, it is only now that it is getting worldwide attention. Thanks to women like Elena, we now know that we have options when choosing, and that those choices can have far reaching effects on not just the lives of our children, but on the future of the planet.


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awesome and informative, January 27, 2007

By Aspiring Midwife (Perry, MI USA) - 

As soon as I heard about this video I had to buy it. It is one of the greatest birth videos I've seen and I have a good sized library of birth videos. The music is great and gave me chills. The births are wonderful and natural. If you are a doula, midwife, or childbirth educator this video is a must have. The narration is excellent. I really enjoyed the special features that included a music only version, circumcision, and lotus birth. The circumcision is a great piece but difficult to watch do to the graphic and sad nature. Although hard to watch I feel it is a must see for parents to be as to be knowledgeable about what circumcision entails. I highly recommend this video.


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, January 27, 2007

By Mom in the making (Essex Jct., VT) 

As a new doula and also a prospective parent, I was very happy when I found out about Birth As We Know It. It is a wonderful film with amazing footage of all natural births, which is most inspiring to me, as my husband and I are trying to conceive our first child. We had already made the decision to have a home waterbirth, but this movie really brings it home for us. It is by far the best birth video I have ever seen and comes with lots of information from elimination communication to circumcision with honest truth. If you are tired of hearing the horror stories of birth and wish to embark on a journey to confidence in your body and in the process of birth as a natural process and not a medical event, I would highly recommend this movie.


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for all who work with pregnant women!, January 27, 2007

By J. M. Hengehold "Mom to Many" - 

As a childbirth educator for over 12 years and RN for 14, I have seen many videos and DVD's... this is on the top of my list! She so beautifully encapsulates every aspect of birth and beyond ~ importance of the prenatal period, stressors, implications of interventions and the impact of commonly assumed and performed "normal newborn procedures" on the baby. Every one of my clients walks away from this movie deeply touched and forever changed.


5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST Birthing DVD Ever Made!, January 27, 2007

By ddfris (USA) - 

If you are ever planning to birth a baby, or are working as a doula, midwife, or women's health instructor, I HIGHLY recommend getting this DVD. It is now available in a full-length feature film (wonderful!) and a shorter instructor's version for use in classrooms. It is BY FAR the best birthing DVD I have ever seen. If you have been disillusioned by "Baby Story" episodes on television, or horrified at terrible hospital-room birthing stories your mother, friends, or the media tell - get this! It will empower you with real, factual, and beautiful knowledge of birthing and your body's amazing natural power and abilities. There are 11 natural births featured within, as well as many other extras on topics such as lotus birth, diaper freedom, circumcision, etc. It is THEE BEST money I have ever spent on a DVD or Birthing Information.


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, informative, a must have!, January 27, 2007

By Amanda Coco (Virginia, USA) -

I saw an ad for this video in Mothering magazine. I went online and bought it immediately. It has really opened my eyes to a whole new world of childbirth choices. It's because of this video that I'm looking into a home waterbirth for our next child. It shows real births that are not painful and stressful, which is the way birth should be. I think every mother and mother-to-be should have this in her video library, and should share it with all her friends and family. 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • followed this page 2016-08-29 09:53:17 -0700